Mr. Nice Forums  
Home History Strains Media Web Community Medical Marijuana Contact us Auctions

Go Back   MNS Forums > MNS strains and grow diaries > 5. Strain Base > Neville's Haze

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-19-2013, 09:12 AM

Default Rainforest Neville haze

Everybody told me that you can't grow Neville Haze at 52 degrees South so of course I had to give it a go. I've been growing landrace sativas for over 30 years but never this far south before so it was all a big experiment really to try NH under extreme situations.

I should explain that in slightly warmer latitudes I've found pure sativas to be tough as old boots, virtually grow anywhere and 100% mould resistant. I've always read in bewilderment all these people on the internet saying don't overfeed sativas and that they're sensitive to nitrogen etc. I've always found sats to be voracious feeders that ate everything I threw at them. I've also grown them in atrocious conditions (like swamps) where indicas just go mouldy and die.

So I wasn't really expecting much drama from Nev Haze as I've always considered it a crippled sativa that's been kicked in the kneecaps by Northern lights.... but I've never grown it before.

So this has been a big learning experience for me.

scrubdog
Old 05-19-2013, 09:44 AM

Default Temperature Sensitive

I will be uploading photos to this thread but I also want to talk about what I'm learning about growing Neville Haze outdoors because it's nothing at all like I expected.

One thing I have learnt is that Neville Haze is a very challenging plant to grow once you get it away from the equator. Probably the most "technical" strain that I've ever grown and I've grown a lot of Hazes and Haze crosses over the years but nothing as temperamental as Neville Haze. In fact I've always found Hazes to be very forgiving in terms of environment.